Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

26 Apr 2017

Coreper approves "PRIMA" Initiative

Coreper, the EU' Committee of Permanent Representatives, agreed on the PRIMA initiative on 26 April 2016. The initiative provides for the EU to help to develop water provision and agro-food projects in the Mediterranean region under the new Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area (PRIMA). The Coreper decision followed an agreement reached by the current Maltese Council Presidency with the European Parliament on 11 April 2017.

The PRIMA initiative will pool the know-how and financial resources of the EU and participating states. The partnership currently involves eleven EU member states: Croatia, Cyprus, Germany, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal and Slovenia; and eight non-EU countries: Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Israel, Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia and Turkey. The EU's participation will include a contribution of  €220 million from Horizon 2020. Participation in the PRIMA initiative will remain open to any other EU member state, as well as to third countries, provided they fulfil the conditions for participating in PRIMA. The initiative is expected to be operational in early 2018, after the formal adoption of the decision by the European Parliament and the Council in the coming months.

For more information:

Council of the European Union - press release

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook