Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

19 Sep 2018

EC announces winners of EU Contest for Young Scientists Award

EUCYS award ceremony in Dublin (by EC)

On 18 September 2018, the European Commission announced the winners of this year's EU Contest for Young Scientists. The awards of the 30th Contest were given to siblings Adrian Fleck and Anna Amelie Fleck from Germany for "FleckProtec – Body Protection Made From Starch", Nicolas Fedrigo from Canada for "Improving Spinal Fusions: Redesigning the Pedicle Probe to Prevent Vertebral Breaches", and Brendon Matusch from Canada for "Development of a Level 2 Autonomous Vehicle Using Convolutional Neural Networks and Reinforcement Learning". The award ceremony was held in Dublin, where this year's winners received their prizes from the Irish Minister of Higher Education Mary Mitchell O'Connor and Wolfgang Burtscher, the Commission's Deputy Director General for Research and Innovation.. The winning young scientists will receive €7,000 for each of the three outstanding projects. The three second prizes and three third prizes were awarded to projects from France, Estonia, Portugal, Georgia, South Korea, and China.

The 135 participants from 38 countries aged 14 to 20 had all previously won first prizes in their home countries' national science competitions in their specific fields. The 88 projects they presented covered a broad spectrum of scientific areas, including biology, physics, chemistry, computing, social sciences, environment, mathematics, materials, engineering and medicine.

For more information:

EC DG Research - News

EUCYS website

detailed list of prize winners

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook