Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

15 Oct 2018

Six cities in final stage of 2018 European Capital of Innovation contest

On 15 October 2018, the European Commission announced the six cities which entered the final stage of this year's European Capital of Innovation contest. The award is funded under Horizon 2020 for outstanding innovation strategies to improve the lives of citizens and business.

The finalists are Aarhus (Denmark), Athens (Greece), Hamburg (Germany), Leuven (Belgium), Toulouse (France) and Umeå (Sweden).

The winner – European Capital of Innovation 2018 – will be announced on 6 November at the Web Summit in Lisbon (Portugal). The city demonstrating the best innovation ecosystem will win a prize of €1 million to scale up its innovation activities. Five runners-up will receive €100 000 each.

EC News

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook