Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

19 Dec 2018

EC appoints three new members of ERC Scientific Council

On 19 December 2018, the European Commission appointed three new members of the Scientific Council, the ERC's governing body. The new members are Ben L. Feringa, Nobel Prize winner from the University of Groningen; Lene Vestergaard Hau, Professor at Harvard University; and Manuel Arellano, Professor at the Centre for Monetary and Financial Studies, Madrid. The mandates of three current members – Professors Tomas Jungwirth, Dame Janet Thornton and Fabio Zwirner – have been renewed. The Scientific Council at the same time announced Dame Janet Thornton and Fabio Zwirner as new ERC Vice Presidents.

The ERC Scientific Council is the independent governing body of the ERC. It is composed of 22 distinguished scientists and scholars representing the European scientific community.

More details can be found here.

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook