Skip navigation icon

The Knowledge-Sharing Platform

05 Jul 2019

EP elects members of ITRE Committee

At its first plenary meeting on 2-4 July 2019, the newly elected European Parliament (EP) elected its new leadership and the members of its parliamentary committees. Italian Social Democrat David Sassoli was elected as the new EP President for the next two-and-a-half years. MEPs also elected the 14 vice-presidents (including Othmar Karas from Austria), who can fill in for the president, and five quaestors, who deal with administrative matters affecting members.

In additon, the EP determined the number of members of each of its committees and elected their members. The ITRE Committee (Committee on Industry, Research and Energy) will have 72 members, including amongst others former ITRE Jerzy Buzek (PL), Horizon 2020 rapporteurs Christian Ehler (DE) and Dan Nica (RO), and Claudia Gamon and Georg Mayer from Austria. According to the EP's Rules of Procedure, the composition of the EP's committees and subcommittees should as far as possible reflect the composition of Parliament as a whole. The political groups and non-attached Members decide internally who is appointed to each committee and subcommittee.  

The new ITRE Chair will be elected on 10 July 2019, and the first meeting of the new ITRE Committee will take place on 22-23 July 2019.

For more information:

EP - press release

List of all parliamentary committee members 

Science|Business article: Meet the new faces of the European Parliament’s research committee

Share this page: Share on Linkedin Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Facebook