International Cooperation in Horizon Europe


Following the entry into force of the Horizon Europe Regulation on 12 May 2021, formal negotiations have started between the EU (led by DG R&I) and third countries that have formally expressed an interest in becoming associated to the Horizon Europe Framework Programme and have completed the exploratory talks.

In Horizon Europe, there are 4 categories of countries eligible for association with the programme:

  • European Free Trade Association (EFTA) members which are members of the European Economic Area (EEA)
  • accession countries, candidate countries and potential candidates
  • European neighborhood policy countries
  • non-EU countries  and territories that fulfil a set of criteria related to their economic, political and research and innovation systems.

As of June 2021, the following countries have expressed a formal interest in association to Horizon Europe 1: Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Iceland, Israel, Kosovo*, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Norway, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Serbia, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom.

Targeted actions with key non-EU partners include the first 'Africa Initiative'.